Skip navigation

I don’t know how many of you have moved before, but it’s tough. Sticking everything you own into little cardboard boxes, then packing it into a tiny car, and traveling across the country, or the province, or the city can take a toll on you. Not to mention the people you’re leaving behind. I went to more good-bye parties then I think I’ve ever been to in my life, and I still didn’t get to say good-bye to everyone.

Oh, my apologies. That should be “see you later.” All of my teachers have been telling myself and the rest of the photojournalism students that we have to say see you later, because it’s “mandatory” that we all come back for visits.

But I have now officially moved back to PEI from Ontario, and am slowly working on getting everything unpacked. You’d be amazed at how much stuff you can collect over two years. I filled a box will all the assignments I shot over my time at Loyalist, and I’ve filled another box with souvenirs, tokens, and flyers from events and activities I’ve gone to, shot and participated in.

All this while trying to set up things to shoot over the next couple weeks, and juggling internship concerns. Oh yeah, did I forget to mention that? I’ll be interning here, at La Voix Acadienne for three weeks. It will be nice to be able to write in French again. After 12 years of it in school, and more grammar rules than you can shake two sticks at, you’d think I’d be tired of it. But two years of speaking only English will make you miss French in a hurry when you used to speak it all the time.

There’s also the issue of trying to set up a job. That’s one of the big ones too. So much to do, and it seems like there is so little time to do it. But before you know it, I’ll be shooting graduations, proms, plays, and who knows what else!

Leave a Reply

